Skip to content Skip to navigation

Faculty

Khalid Aziz

Otto N. Miller Professor in the School of Earth Sciences, Emeritus

aziz@stanford.edu

Research Areas: (SFC Co-Director) Reservoir simulation, natural gas engineering and multiphase flow in wells and pipes, optimization of oil field development and operations.

Biondo Biondi

Barney and Estelle Morris Professor

biondo@stanford.edu

Research Areas: Seismic imaging and computational seismology.

Adam Brandt

Associate Professor of Energy Resources Engineering

abrandt@stanford.edu

Research Areas: Greenhouse gas emissions, energy systems optimization, mathematical modeling of resource depletion, life cycle analysis.

Louis Durlofsky

Otto N. Miller Professor in Earth Sciences

lou@stanford.edu

Research Areas: (SFC Co-Director) General reservoir simulation, optimization, reduced-order modeling, upscaling, flow in fractured systems, history matching, CO2 sequestration, energy systems optimization.

Roland Horne

Thomas Davies Barrow Professor in the School of Earth Sciences and Senior Fellow at the Precourt Institute for Energy

Roland.Horne@stanford.edu

Research Areas: Well testing, optimization and geothermal reservoir engineering.

Tapan Mukerji

Professor (Research) of Energy Resources Engineering and, by courtesy, of Geophysics and of Geological Sciences

mukerji@stanford.edu

Research Areas: Rock physics, geostatistics, and wave propagation.

placeholder image

Victor Pereyra

Consulting Professor, Department of Energy Resources Engineering

Daniel Tartakovsky

Professor of Energy Resources Engineering

tartakovsky@stanford.edu

Research Areas: Environmental fluid mechanics, applied and computational mathematics, biomedical modeling.

Hamdi Tchelepi

Professor of Energy Resources Engineering

tchelepi@stanford.edu

Research Areas: Modeling flow and transport in natural porous media. Application areas include reservoir simulation and subsurface CO2 sequestration.

Marco Thiele

Adjunct Professor, Department of Energy Resources Engineering - Energy Resources Engineering

thiele@stanford.edu

Research Areas: Streamline simulation and its broad application to reservoir engineering and management, including flood optimization, upscaling, and history matching.